Product Extortion2018-08-22T14:43:27+00:00

Product Extortion

“It takes 20 years to build a reputation and five minutes to ruin it.”

Warren Buffett, Investor

The perpetrators are well prepared – you should be too

Whether intentionally or negligently caused – once damages occur, it is difficult to control the consequences. But prevention options are certainly available.

There are hardly any reliable statistics on product extortion. The only reliable indicator is experience in this field, which suggests a high number of unreported cases. Essentially, the more renowned the brand is, the more likely it is to become a target of product extortion.

How To React To Product Extortion?

  • Ignore?
  • Negotiate?
  • Pay?
  • What if the media find out?
  • Do we have insurance?

These are questions that should be answered before a product extortion case even occurs. If the right decisions are made from the beginning, there is a good chance that the product extortion will stop and just peter out. The decisive factor for how an extortion will run its course is generally the motive behind it. Perpetrators are not always professional or well-organized blackmailers concerned with ecological or extremist demands. Disgruntled employees, copy cats, individuals in debt, or even the mentally ill are all possible categories of perpetrators. The main motive in most cases is still (ransom) money, which today is often demanded in the form of digital currency such as Bitcoin.

Extortion affects not only companies in the food industry, but all companies manufacturing or selling goods. The fallout can range from health impairments of consumers, the spread of damaging information in social media, litigation from injured parties, sanctions by regulatory agencies, loss of reputation due to adverse media coverage, and many more.

Prevention Options

Every case of product extortion must be analyzed and considered individually.

It can not only be life-threatening for consumers but also be an existential danger for the affected company. By using existing procedures combined with proven crisis scenarios, the consequences of extortion can be mitigated. Crisis management should define scenarios, set up a crisis team and crisis communication.

Approach:

  • Risk analysis of business processes
  • Identification of “crown jewels” and risk assessment
  • Development of crisis management together with crisis communication
  • Adequate insurance coverage

Crisis management trainings help to test and improve existing processes.

Produkterpressung2018-08-22T14:43:27+00:00

Produkterpressung

„Man braucht 20 Jahre, um sich einen Ruf zu erarbeiten und nur 5 Minuten um ihn zu ruinieren.“

Warren Buffett, Investor

Die Täter sind gut vorbereitet – seien Sie es auch

Egal ob vorsätzlich oder fahrlässig, ist der Schaden erst eingetreten, sind die Folgen meist nur schwer in den Griff zu bekommen. Präventionsmöglichkeiten gibt es – mit Sicherheit!

Verlässliche Zahlen zu Produkterpressungen liegen kaum vor. Verlässlich sind nur die Erfahrungswerte, welche eine hohe Dunkelziffer erkennen lassen. Grundsätzlich gilt, je bekannter die Marke, desto leichter gerät ein Unternehmen in den Fokus.

Wie auf die Produkterpressung reagieren?

  • Ignorieren?
  • Verhandeln?
  • Bezahlen?
  • Was, wenn Medien davon erfahren?
  • Bin ich versichert?

Fragen, mit denen man sich vor Eintritt der Produkterpressung auseinandersetzen sollte. Werden von Beginn an die richtigen Entscheidungen getroffen, stehen die Chancen gut, dass die Erpressung eingestellt wird und im Sande verläuft? Auch das Motiv ist für den Verlauf einer Produkterpressung entscheidend. Nicht immer ist es ein professioneller und gut organisierter Erpresser, dem es nur um die Geldforderung geht bzw. der ökologische oder extremistische Gründe nennt. Auch enttäuschte Mitarbeiter, Trittbrettfahrer, Verschuldete sowie psychisch Beeinträchtigte kommen als Täter in Frage. Das Hauptmotiv ist in den meisten Fällen immer noch (Löse-)Geld, welches heute häufig in Form der digitalen Währung Bitcoin gefordert wird.

Es betrifft nicht nur Unternehmen der Lebensmittelbranche, sondern generell alle Unternehmen, die Produkte herstellen, vertreiben oder fertigen. Die Negativfolgen sind schlimmstenfalls eine gesundheitliche Beeinträchtigung von Konsumenten, die rasante Verbreitung in sozialen Medien, zivilrechtliche Forderungen von Geschädigten, behördliche Restriktionen, Reputationsverlust durch mediale Darstellung oder noch vieles mehr.

Präventionsmöglichkeiten

Jede Produkterpressung ist individuell zu analysieren und zu betrachten.

Vor allem bereits vorhandene, prozessorientierte Abläufe in Verbindung mit erprobten Krisenszenarien leisten einen Beitrag zur Bewältigung einer Produkterpressung, die nicht nur lebensbedrohlich für Verbraucher sein können, sondern auch die Existenz des Unternehmens gefährden kann. Im Krisenmanagement sollten die jeweiligen Krisenszenarien definiert sowie der Krisenstab und die Krisenkommunikation klar geregelt sein.

Vorgehensweise:

  • Risikoanalyse der Unternehmensprozesse
  • Identifizierung der „Kronjuwelen“ und Bewertung der Gefährdung
  • Aufbau Krisenmanagement in Verbindung mit Krisenkommunikation
  • Adäquate Versicherung

Krisenstabstrainings helfen die vorhandenen Prozessabläufe zu testen und anzupassen.